As if, as though, as, the way and like


As if, as though, as, the way and like


We use as if/as though to say what a situation seems like

It looks as if/as though I was dying

We can use a past tense with a present meaning this shoes that a comparison is unreal.

She looks as if/as though she’s rich. (Perhaps she is)

He talks as if/as though he is rich. (He is not rich)

You look as though/as if you know each other

Why is she looking at me as if she knows me? I’ve never seen her before

He talks as if/as though he was rich (formal)

Like is used instead of as if/as though epically American English, this is considered incorrect in formal style.

Its look like its going to rain

He sat there smiling like it was his birthday

Like Jane, I don’t smoke   We don’t smoke

I don’t smoke, like Jane    I don’t smoke but Jan yes

A comparison with as /like after negative clause refers only to the positive part comparison with as/like before a negative clauses refers to the whole clause

نظرات 0 + ارسال نظر
برای نمایش آواتار خود در این وبلاگ در سایت Gravatar.com ثبت نام کنید. (راهنما)
ایمیل شما بعد از ثبت نمایش داده نخواهد شد